Things I love about France #1 : Food

 

FOOD.

The first story goes that I loved food so much when I was a child that I’d clear my plate, then my brother’s then whoever else hadn’t managed all their meal. The second story goes ‘the French know how to eat,” and although I haven’t written about it much, am currently living in France. Okay, I haven’t been able to find a good Indian meal yet (although the above Men[u] looks intriguing) but I’ve found Vietnamese to be a good substitute and now I’m a Bo Bun addict, not just cos of its name. Jeff de Bruges chocolat is calling in the air tonight, oh Lord. Angelina’s hot chocolate makes herself known everytime someone visits from England. Cakes, cheese wine and vegetables that taste like vegetables are happily part of my general diet and – I don’t think it’s too much of an exaggeration to compare my local Alimentation Generale to the Garden of Eden. Not to mention the two unforgettable oyster experiences I’ve had here, the first Chez Newcity in Normandie and the second at a meeting for press at Rennes Transmusicale Festival last winter. There are some perks to the low-paid job of photography, I promise you.

On a similar note, Fricote Magazine (below), is written in both French & English it’s not just the most interesting food magazine I’ve ever come across but one of the best print publications I’ve seen in a while.  Mixing up restaurant reviews with fashion, music and street culture, the latest issue features an interview with Moby about his infamous Veganism. Let’s hope he mentions Marmite, cos that’s something the French do need to know about.

GC.

http://www.fricote.fr/

Leave a Reply

